More Please

Trees

2/17/2013

 

There is hint of it here.

A trickle of spring melt deep below the surface that promises to fill a cold mountain stream that will wind its way through the foothills, by gravity and by pipe, giving false extravagance to golf courses and to bubble baths and to the small garden of perennials that Mrs. Simpson is trying to grow just like she did back in Ohio.

Snowpack would have made these winter woods unreachable in other years.

GP.2.13

It used to be May, or even June, before the road opened to this adventure.

The breath of thirst is sour and pungent. The shadows of trees whisper of the whims of climate and weather and warn of deep, dried lines in earth and faces come June, of rain seen above the meadow in July but which will never make it all the way to the ground, of the drip, drip, drip that leaks away in garden hoses in August and of the start, in September, of another dry winter.

These woods need a heavy drink.

An hour away in Denver on this same day, the temperature neared 70 degrees and joggers, bikers, cyclists and tennis players worked up a hefty thirst.

 

“I live in a high desert and I am forever thirsty.”

Terry Tempest Williams

 

http://www.denverpost.com/news/ci_22539537/colorado-snowpack-way-below-normal

 

50 thoughts on “More Please

  1. I remember cold, snowy winters while I was growing up, with long stretches of bitter temperatures and snow that lasted from December through March. And then my senior year of high school, it was in the 60s over Christmas break. That’s when I really remember the change beginning. How well we adapt remains to be seen.

  2. I know well, the ache for rain… the uncomfortable feeling, when nature starts misbehaving… Unfortunately, that too is part of our relationship with the natural world. And the best is to keep in mind the long history behind us, of ice ages, and shifts in population of all living things, and sometimes even of topography… nothings stays the same… it’s just that in nature, these changes are usually so slow that we are barely aware of them. But they can also surprise us with shivers and roars that send the ants (us) flying through the air and screaming. What beautiful pictures in this post! What a pleasure to spend a couple of minutes with you…

  3. The oldest of our Old Folks around here remember when the Bay would freeze every winter. It hasn’t frozen once in the last 25 years… This change has been coming for a long, long time…

    That said, I wish for deep snow for you…high in the mountains, of course!

  4. We’ve had an unusually sunny winter here. Not too many gray days and not too much snow. I remember 25 years ago that it was not unusual to have gloom + snow for weeks on end. While I prefer the winter weather as it is now, I have to wonder if this is a good thing.

    • If it’s cloudy, I’d just as soon it rain or snow. I don’t care for days of grey without any moisture……we do not have too many of those here. Usually if it gets cloudy, somebody somewhere is getting something. Just not all of us and not usually enough 🙂 Thanks Ally.

  5. In some places, there’s so much water that it destroys, while others search the skies for months, waiting for rain.

    “…dried lines in earth and faces come June…”

    Beautiful, as always.

    • I once lived in Illinois on a bluff overlooking the Mississippi. Have done my share of sandbagging in my time (to help out the neighbors)……..quite a change from where I live now. Thanks Bronxboy…..hope you enjoy sunny skies and an early spring 🙂

    • Thank you, Kathryn. We’ve had snow in the mountains and also on the front range since I posted this—-thank goodness. Still not enough, but better than before. Good to see you 🙂

    • Mother nature and her climate have truly been ill-of-sorts for a while now. The West here has always been dry—–but it’s getting warmer and drier at the same time there are more and more and more people living here. Thanks countingducks 🙂

  6. Beautifully expressed, Stacia. Having moved from San Antonio, we understand the intense desire for rain. I remember a day when I was teaching and it began to rain one September. It hadn’t rained since May of that year. I stopped teaching and my class and I stood at the window and watched in awe.

  7. Well said. Reminded me of my drive through America’s breadbasket in CA where so many fields are turning to dust bowls because water isn’t being sent there but horded elsewhere. 😦 When will people stop taking water for granted and wasting it?

    • I went through that part of California last fall and was amazed. The majority of our water is used for agricultural and much of that goes to feed cows. But there is plenty that I and the rest of us can do to reduce our use. First step—-think and talk about it. Thanks Kourtney.

      • When I had to pay my own water bill, I realized how wasteful I was and learned to be more respectful of this essential resource. It’s unfortunate that cost sometimes is the only thing that makes us aware of the inherent value in things.

      • You are right Kourtney—we do best when we see the personal consequences. Guess that is why a lot of people don’t give much thought to melting glaciers 😦

  8. We’ve had so much rain, sleet, and dabbles of snow, that we are in the opposite category. Our ground is just soggy. But I’ll appreciate that a little more now. Thanks Bella.

  9. Love the descriptions, Stacia. Wish you could get some of our rain. It is a cold, dreary, rainy day today, and I long for spring. It is late in coming this year for us.

  10. Lovely words and pictures. We were in “moderate drought” conditions around here and have had next to zero snow this weird winter, but we have had some rain. Now we’re up to “abnormally dry” and hopeful for improvement.

Leave a Reply

