Deep Snow and Bluebird Sky

12/5/11

I love deep snow under a bluebird sky and the quiet crunch that is the sound of progress.

It is slow-going but rhythmical.  It takes lots of energy to go fast, especially if it’s powder snow.   I try not to overdo too early in the trek.  I pace myself, keep steady, conserve the energy I will need to finish up.  I do far better at keeping my form if I don’t rush and I don’t hurry.  

The sun and my exertion warm me and I sweat.  The snow is deeper the further into the forest I go.  I am the first tracks.   I am, in fact, the only tracks that will mar this route today.

I am fed by what I feel outdoors, nourished by the sun and the cold on my face.  I am encouraged by the pines and the tracks of small creatures in the snow.  I keep at it, going steadily uphill and down, through the open meadow where wildflowers will grow next summer and down into the grove of aspens that were gold in September.

Here in this season, it is cold and quiet.  No hustle, no bustle, no undue stress.  It is hard work, but it is very satisfying.   It is incredibly quiet and I can hear myself think.

But, happily, I am not thinking about what I need to do.  I am not planning anything in my head nor am I compiling any lists.  I am doing what I should do at this moment. 

I am moving steadily along, following on a path that wiggles and meanders and has no particular end in mind.  The only aim is to go through the motions and enjoy the deep snow and the bluebird sky.  

Bliss.   

Bliss that will be remembered when I return and my body is very tired and my muscles are sore.  I will hang on to that bliss when the time comes to go back to the to do list.

I will remember how it felt out in the woods when the crazy and dark side of the season threatens to get me down.  I will think of the peace and the quiet of nature at its best.  I will make my way at a steady pace, conserving my energy.

I will hang onto that bliss. 

 

“The human spirit needs places where nature

 has not been rearranged by man.” 

…………………Source unknown

 

64 thoughts on “Deep Snow and Bluebird Sky

  1. Beautiful. It reminds me of when I stayed in Boulder, Colorado, back in the 70s. A friend took me cross-country skiing in the mountains. I kept falling over, but he said I was making progress when I started to fall forwards instead of backwards. I remember stopping to rest, surrounded by fir trees, and the deep silence and calm that surrounded us. Thank you for bringing me back to a world I can’t reach any more.

  2. This is so beautiful. I can almost smell the crisp air and hear the crunch. Thanks for getting us out into the woods. And most of all thanks for the serenity of the mountains. More. more.

  3. I loved this. The writing and the pictures were beautiful and the quote at the end made me smile. It was a lovely read. Thank you for sharing.

  4. I can practically “smell” the snow and “hear “the crispness in the air with your lovely descriptions, winsomebella…THANK you for this needed bit of bliss after a long work day full of dull meetings in a room with no windows and the odor of white board markers…:)

  5. Gosh, I so love your writing! And photography. You just have a way of transporting me to wherever you are. I felt like I was walking right along with you in the snow and I feel refreshed!

    I so agree about nature and our need to be out in it, to regroup. Thank you for sharing this!

  6. I’m so looking forward to the snowshoeing season! I didn’t take it up until I moved to Idaho. It’s a beautiful way to be outdoors. It’s the quiet way to be outdoors. I love it. Beautiful writing as always, winsomebella!

  7. This is wonderful post… Photographs and words… Where are these mountains, fascinated me. But I should say, I have no experience like yours during winter… We have mountains and it’s been so nice during winter days but I live in ıstanbul. But should be amazing to be there. Thank you Winsomebella, with my love, nia

      • I am sure I would love taking pictures in there dear Winsomebella, are you kidding, I can be lost in there… How I wished… But who knows maybe one day… I know this Rocky Mountains of Colorado. But now, once again I am learning through your eyes. Thank you so much, with my love, nia

  8. As always beautiful post with lovely photos. You express everything so beautifully in this post. What i liked most is that, you are going with the motion, not caring much about the destination. For me that’s the best way to live life. I loved this post of yours.

  9. Wow, these pictures are amazing! I love how you describe the “crunch” of the snow. What a view of the mountain, you are so blessed. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your day with us. 🙂

  10. I’ve let far too many winters go by without getting out there and appreciating what the season has to offer. You’ve inspired me to change that in the coming months. Thank you for taking us along with you, and for keeping us warm, and hopeful.

  11. having lived in colorado, this makes me very nostalgic! how I miss the beautiful mountains! At least we get (lots of) snow here too! Makes me want to get my snowshoes out!! Beautiful photos!

    • Thank you so much for stopping into my blog. Snow is wonderful but you might think it is pretty cold unless you are dressed for it like we do here. Hope to see you here again 🙂

Leave a Reply

