Godspeed, Hoss

8/30/11

 

“Nobody can be uncheered with a balloon.”

Winnie the Pooh

‘Tis been a time of sadness and upheaval for some I know.  A beloved pet has died, the baby of one family left for college, another family moved far away, a couple’s divorce was filed and a friend received a diagnosis.  All a part of the flow of life, but difficult when your life is doing the flow.

I started this post wanting to share photos of a balloon launch I watched last weekend.  I was going to write about how beautiful were the balloons, how bright was the sun, how blue was the sky.   I was going to reminisce about the time I went up in a hot air balloon and how I kneeled on the ground and drank champagne at the end of the flight.  But those words did not come.

I came then upon words that seemed, at least to me, to tie together the images I was seeing and the thoughts I was feeling.   To those who have hurt, I send you my love and warm thoughts.  And to dear old Hoss, and all other dogs loved dearly and sadly lossed, I shareThe Balloonist’s Prayer.”

“The winds have welcomed you with softness.

The sun has blessed you with his warm hands.

You have flown so high and so well

that God joined you in laughter

and set you gently back into

the loving arms of Mother Earth.”

unknown………..

Godspeed, Hoss. 

 

35 thoughts on “Godspeed, Hoss

  1. Thanks for sharing that and condolences on your loss. I’ve done quite a bit of flying in aircraft small and large (I prefer small) but I’ve never done a balloon flight. They tell me it is very quiet because the craft is moving along with the wind. True?

    signpilot

  2. It was lovely – thank you for sharing. It amazes me that whenever I feel a little down there is someome, somehow, that will post something that lifts me up. Hoss was a handsome boy.

  3. Winsome–I’ve read your last post several times, and because it was so beautifully written, I didn’t know how to comment. This one has gripped me the same way. You have a powerful yet gentle way of portraying life. Godspeed to you, and sweet Hoss.

  4. Yes pets can be a very hard loss to take. My “baby” has gone off to college 500 miles away…She has seen my little framed photograph of my cat Jipper. He has been gone well before my daughter was even born. I wish she could of met the smartest cat ever. He had a kink on the end of his tail, talked by *squeeking*, and did tricks. I’ve seen tears come to the eyes of some very battle hardened men because of the loss of their pets. Hoss does look like quite the gentleman…I am very sorry. My prayers go to the people that you mentioned.

    Kind regards,
    Rand

  5. I gave my lab “Queenie” a couple of extra hugs after reading this. Then wiped away a tear.

    You touched me on another level. “Up, up and Away” was the top song when I met my wife so it became our song. We finally got up, up and away ourselves on her 50th birthday. And yes, paywindow, you are the wind!

  6. “The winds have welcomed you with softness” – Thank you Stacia, you know this means a lot to my family. Rest in Peace Hoss with all the other great dogs who have passed, starting with Tyler, my parents first and Gully – his friend growing up.

  7. Stacia, I’m so sorry about Hoss. I know what it is to love a pet that much. The pictures and poem were touching and so appropriate to what you are experiencing and what you are seeing in the lives of others around you. The vagaries of life sometimes take us places we’d rather not go.

  8. Your post really got to me. I thought it was a wonderful tribute to Hoss, and made me miss my dog, Domino, even more. He’s been in New Mexico for a month and I’ve been here. I hope he misses me as much as I do his companionship. I’ve never been as attached to a dog before.

  9. How poignant – so sorry for the loss of your pet and companion. What a great tribute to him.
    The balloon photos are beautiful – you could have used them for the photo theme “up”, but I think they were so much more pertinent here.

    Your balloons reminded me of something that happened to me about a year ago. I had just started a new job and was wondering if I was going to be good at it. I was driving to my first or second day there, and unbeknownst to me a balloon competition was going on in the city I had to drive through to get there. The early morning sky was filled with balloons – 50 or more. I was driving on the freeway, didn’t have a camera and couldn’t stop anyway, so all I could do was enjoy the moment. And what a beautiful moment it was. Somehow seeing those ballons made me feel like everything was going to be all right, and turns out it was. Thanks for reminding me of it.

    BTW, I’ve added you to my blogroll so I won’t lose track of you – should have done it long ago!

Leave a Reply

