If You Want to Know Why

 

1/17/12

I write because words go round inside my head and I want to mold them like a potter does clay.

I write and like the way the words feel on my tongue and the way my eye follows them on the page and the way the voice inside my head speaks them.

I write when the words spill down the page and there is nothing to stop the flow. No damming it up or sandbagging the words that like to slip through the cracks.

I write and am okay with messy because sometimes the best things come out of the abyss that is on paper.

I write to share my way of seeing all sides, my roundabout point of view that should be expressed so others will not be so narrow.

I write because it gives me hope and discipline and it expands my capacity to feel and to touch.

I write because what I want to say I cannot say by speaking. I am quicker writing with my hands than I am speaking on my feet.

I write because writing 1000 words of something good is better than finishing a 1000 piece puzzle. Each word has its place and they all fit together tightly and if there is a word missing, it is incomplete.

I write because I am pegged to do so. Others draw, or run, or count, or sing, or quilt. I write.

I write because there are cloud shapes that others cannot see and the touch of a prickly pear that others will not feel and the sound of spring runoff in a mountain creek that others will not hear and the taste of my mother’s mashed potatoes that others will not taste. Unless I write about those things.

I write and find myself in times and places that I will not otherwise experience.

I write when it feels like my brain is a walnut and the words are stuck inside and it will take a quick and strong twist of a nutcracker to pry open the goods.

I write to recall how I felt when someone long ago read to me and I first knew words and stories can be symphonic.

I write to collect my thoughts in one place and to put them out into the universe before I forget what I was thinking.

I write and find myself spiraling backward, to reexamine what happened long ago, going round and round like I am following the rings of a snail’s shell to see what I can see.

I write to get the long view of mankind, to find the common denominators I share with people who live half a world away or down the street, and to understand that we are more alike than not.

I write because there are times when it is the best medicine I can take.

 

 

Thank you for your words of encouragement and concern after my last post. My mother is at her home in Kansas and now in the good care of her doctors.

80 thoughts on “If You Want to Know Why

  1. I’m glad you write. I’m even more thankful that you share it. I write also, but only because I feel compelled to do so.and because the lines of the text have a rhythm in my head that I don’t feel anyplace else, like the stanzas of a song and this is my only dance.
    Please continue writing, you’re a benchmark to some of us

    signpilot.

  2. All beautiful, of course. I too am glad you write — but this one touched one of my reasons: “I write to recall how I felt when someone long ago read to me and I first knew words and stories can be symphonic.”

    Thanks for letting us know about your mom.

  3. Great post on writing! Glad I found your blog, such a great thing! Can I borrow some phrases to express myself when I talk about my writing verbally?

  4. Winsomebella – Writing is, indeed, medicinal, and I’m glad to be on the receiving end of yours. Thank you, too, for letting us know that your mother is back at home and in good care.

  5. Dear Bella, I am so glad to hear that your mother is back home and in good care. I am sure she will be getting better soon too. “Writing” is my passion too and the only way to express myself… or to talk with myself too… Your “Writing” piece fascinated me… How amazingly you expressed,… I can find my voice too in these lines… You are great. Thank you, with my best wishes, prayers and love for you all, nia

  6. When you have a gift and that gift needs to see the light of day it comes screaming out… although sometimes in a whisper. It’s the most amazing thing how everything flows when we honor our gifts. You have an amazing gift!
    b

  7. I am glad you write – moreover, I am glad you share what you write. Thank you.

    Those sculptors are beautiful and begged to be touched.

    Thank you for the update on your Mother. I hope the doctors are able to help her.

    • It took me a very long time before I was ready to share….having supportive people like you has made what used to be very hard for me to do much easier. Henry Moore was the sculptor of those pieces……they are more impressive in real life than I could capture in the photos. Thank you Lenore Diane.

  8. I am so terrifically happy to have found you…sitting there at your desk…winsome, thoughtful, deep-hearted. thank you for today. i’m grateful that you can’t help but write.

  9. Your use of the one word “symphonic” sums up the effects of all the rest of your post’s words today. Another song of deep beauty here. And such lovely accompanying photos from a tremendous sculpture park! Moore! More! More!

  10. This is the reason! Your words explain the why’s not only for yourself, but for everyone who is involved in the creative process. There will be variations compared to your reason, of course, but you so beautifully sum up why we do what we do. I really like your metaphors. A great post with great pictures.

  11. Beautiful. You spoke for all of us, in this post. :Thank you for giving me enough reasons, to why I write!
    I am really glad you write, and more than anything else i am really happy that i know you, so that i can read these words which you write. Simply wonderful post!

  12. What a lovely, thought-provoking list! I especially like the walnut image – you do pretty good work with a nutcracker.

    I hope the situation with your mom continues to improve.

  13. Pingback: Write or Wrong « Speaking from the Heart

Leave a Reply

